Side Hustle Internship

Side Hustle Internship

The Journey So Far

Hello 👋!!!, In this post, I'll be sharing my experience so far at the side hustle 3.0 internship program.

Side Hustle

Side Hustle is a talent management platform that is aimed at reducing the rate of youth unemployment and poverty in Nigeria, by empowering youths (undergraduates, graduates and youth corp members) to learn from the best minds, execute their ideas and earn a living by offering their services to businesses.

Not only do they empower youth with the needed skills to help them earn a living in the society, we also connect them with the right businesses that need their skills to help them grow their business.

Damilola Oyediran

Founder

The Journey So Far.

The internship started on the 21st June and i registered for Front end Web Development. I already had a background knowledge about web development(HTML, CSS and JavaScript) but after the first week of this internship, I realized that I have forgotten a lot of things. I've now been able to go through things I already knew, things I had forgotten and I've also made a lot of developer friends(fellow interns).

The Internship has made me realize that there's a lot to web development than just writing and running codes.

WEEK 1

Week 1 kicked off with the basics of web development, HTML, Git and GitHub.

  • The HyperText Markup Language, or HTML is the standard markup language for documents designed to be displayed in a web browser, and the debate of HTML being a programming language was clarified.

  • GitHub, github is a provider of Internet hosting for software development and version control using Git. It offers the distributed version control and source code management functionality of Git, plus its own features.

We were then given a quiz and a task.

The task was to create a tribute page, about anyone using up to 20 HTML tags.

I completed the task using codepen and this is my Task 1 Solution.

WEEK 2

Week 2 was all about CSS(Cascading Style Sheets), web site hosting and implementation.

Here are the topics covered in Week 2.
  1. Introduction to CSS
  2. How CSS works behind the scene (Cascade & Specificity)
  3. Responsive Design Strategies
  4. Selecting breakpoints for media-queries
  5. What is hosting/deployment
  6. The different ways of hosting a website
  7. Blogging
  8. The importance of blogging and content writing
  • Cascading Style Sheets is a style sheet language used for describing the presentation of a document written in a markup language such as HTML. CSS is a cornerstone technology of the World Wide Web, alongside HTML and JavaScript.

  • A web hosting service is a type of Internet hosting service that allows individuals and organizations to make their website accessible via the World Wide.

  • Blogging refers to writing, photography, and other media that's self-published online. Blogging started as an opportunity for individuals to write diary-style entries, but it has since been incorporated into websites for many businesses.

TASK

This week's task was a challenge from Frontendmentor and it was to build Fylo dark theme landing page. and make it responsive across all devices.

This wasn't my first time building a landing page but I always dogged making it responsive and I had a little problem with CSS FlexBox and Grid but thanks to the mentors and fellow interns I was able to achieve my desired result😁.

Screenshot 2021-07-04 192425.jpg

Screenshot 2021-07-04 192539.jpg

Screenshot 2021-07-04 192622.jpg

Screenshot 2021-07-04 192701.jpg

Another Challenge faced was implementing the curvy image for both desktop and mobile view. This was a logical challenge but I got help from a fellow , Kingsley Okoro and a blog post from another intern, click here to visit the blog, I was able to get the perfect result.

Screenshot 2021-07-04 192334.jpg

That was how I overcame that challenges faces. This is my task below.

Hosted Site: Task-2-Fylo-landing-page

Conclusion

It's been an intense and exciting program so far, I'm looking forward to more backbreaking and brain racking tasks.

Thanks for reading ❤️, see you on my next post.